Top 5 Books of 2016

Earlier today I published a list the 10 books I’m most looking forward to reading this year and I thought I would write a little bit about my favourite books from last year as well.

I had a fairly unsuccessful reading year last year, I only read about 30 books (and at least 4 of those were comic books) so I’ve only managed to pick out a few really fantastic books for this list.

Here are my top 5 books of 2016:

Siddhartha – Hermann Hesse

52036

This book was an utter delight and a complete surprise. I picked it up because a friend of mine who is a habitual two star-er on Goodreads gave this a five star review, and I had to know why. This book was deep, charming and the prose was enchanting. It’s a very short book as well so if you’re looking for a quick read that will make you think but also cheer you up give Siddhartha a read.  9/10

Truthwitch – Susan Dennard

21414439

Female friendships, pirate hijinks, witches – need I say more. It’s a little slow to start but the last third is absolutely fantastic so stick with it. (And the second book comes out this week if you live in America, or sadly if you live in Britain live me it comes out next week ) 8.5/10

The Word for World is Forest

24933757

It’s so rare that I read a book for Uni that I enjoy, I didn’t just enjoy this book however I flippin’ loved it.  This book will make you question what it is to be human, what it is to feel empathy, question everything you ever thought about war, and very possibly make you want to go live in the forest. 10/10

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

the-ocean-at-the-end-of-the-lane

Oh my days this book. It was beautiful. When I finished reading this I felt both heartbroken and like I was a better person. The world Gaiman creates is fascinating and the narrative voice is perfection. Full review coming soon!  8.5/10

Fight Club

514qxryz5sl-_sx324_bo1204203200_

Love the film? Well the book is even better! More gore, more ridiculousness, more anarchy! I was worried, having seen the film first, that the book was going to be really boring because I knew the big spoiler at the end, but I was completely wrong. Knowing the spoiler allowed me to concentrate more on the fantastically clever writing. 8/10

Honorable mentions:

A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms – A donkey wearing a hat, sword fights, peasants waving sticks! 7.5/10

The Martian – BOTANY in space. 7/10

His Majesty’s Dragon – The Napoleonic wars but with extra dragon – further proof that dragons make everything better.  7.8/10

What were your favourite books in 2016? Did you read any of these and did you enjoy them? Let me know in the comments!

~ Lizz

Posts you may like:

The Best Lessons I have learnt from Steven Universe

10 Books I want to Read in 2017

2017 New Year’s Resolutions 

One thought on “Top 5 Books of 2016

Leave a Reply

