10 Books I Want to Read in 2017

2017 is here and I thought that I would share with you the top 10 books I want to get round to reading this year. A few of these you will have seen on TBRs all through last year because I’m a bad person… but lets forget that and look forward to 2017.

Here are the 10 books that I want to read in 2017:

1. The Name of the Wind – Patrick Rothfuss

the-name-of-the-wind

I’ve owned this book for months and still haven’t got round to reading. It’s the second highest rated book on Goodreads and everyone I know who’s read it has loved it. I need to get around to this soon!

2. A Dance with Dragons – G. R. R. Martin

dragons05

I promised myself that I was going to read all the A Song of Ice and Fire book, and did I? Well I read A Feast for Crows and died a little inside! But the excitement of the New Year I think will get me back on the horse and finishing this just in time for Winds of Winter.

3. Windwitch – Susan Dennard

29939390

Truthwitch (the first book in this series) was one of my favourite book I read last year, so I’m so excited to pick Windwitch up when it comes out next week (America I’m so jealous of your earlier release).

4. Gardens of Moon – Steven Erikson

553992

Early last year I saw this series recommended in a Buzzfeed article, and put in on my reading list. However, a month or two ago one of my good friends recommended to me that I give this series the time because it was by far his favourite. So it’s been swiftly moved up the list.

5. Guards, Guards – Terry Pratchett

61tpasrlrql-_sx317_bo1204203200_

I love Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series and all my fellow Discworld fans have told me that Guards, Guards is their favourite. I’ve got a bet running with a friend that I can read all of Pratchett’s books this year, which I’m not sure I’ll win but if I read any of them, I want to read Guards, Guards.

6. The Watchmaker of Filigree Street – Natasha Pulley

15871070_10211407189031393_8259293_n

This was written by my teacher at Uni and has fantastic reviews  so it’s made the cut. I don’t know much about it other than that it is set in London and involves watches, but that’s how I like to go into books (having seen major spoilers on blurbs before).

7. A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J Mass

77493_original

Everybody and their cat was raving about A Court of Mist and Fury this year and I’m dying to read it. However, I need to actually read the first book in the series before jumping into the second.

8. The Shining – Stephen King

shiningfinalonline1_378

We were asked to read a horror book set in a hotel for one of my classes last year, and most of us really didn’t enjoy it. My teacher suggested we try King’s The Shining instead. I’ve been meaning to pick up one of his book for a while now so I thought I’ start with this one.

9. Rebel Spring – Morgan Rhodes

51vggi3rz0l-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Another book that I had a lot of fun reading last year was Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes. I’d really love to catch up with the series before the final book comes out sometime in the next year.

10. A Wizard of EarthSea – Ursula le Guin

a3db6bf39b7deb6a517decb972fa70c5

The Word for World is Forest was one of my top books last year, so I’m planning to pick up as many le Guin books as possible and I’m going to start with the EarthSea quartet as a lovely friend got me it for Christmas.

~

What books are you planning to read this year? Let me know in the comments!

~Lizz

Posts you might like:

The best things I’ve learnt from Steven Universe

10 Fantastic Reading Challenges That Will Push You to Read Something New in 2017

2 thoughts on “10 Books I Want to Read in 2017

Leave a Reply

