New Year’s Resolutions 2017

Happy New Year!

For many of us 2016 was a long and hard year, it was for me too. I’ve been battling with illnesses all year on top of the everyday trials of life at University. The good news is I love New Years and all the goal setting and leaf turing that comes with them. This year is no different, Ive woken up this morning feeling a little bit lighter. So as we all enjoy our fresh starts today I’d like to talk to you about my goals and intentions for 2017 (both in real life and on this blog).

However, before we get into that I wanted to say thank you to all my readers in 2016. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to read something that I have written. Thank you for your patiences over my infrequent posting and for baring with me whilst I clumsily try to figure out my style. Thank you for being so kind to me this last year. And most of all, thank you for your own posts that inspire me daily – keep up the good work in 2017.

Word of the Year – INVEST

This year I noticed that many people were cleverly using one word to sum up all their goals and intentions for 2017 and this really inspired me. I sat down one day last week and thought about what I wanted to do in this next year and everything came back to one thing – investing. Be it time into projects, effort into content and sometimes even money in buying enough food. Having one word that all my goals lead back to has really helped me focus on what is important to me right now, and how I can make 2017 my best year yet.

Real Life Goals and Intentions:

[a]Fitness –  Around September time I started getting really into going to the gym and working out, and I really saw changes in both my mental health and my body. Sadly in November I was put on the FODMAP diet, I panicked and stopped feeding myself properly. All my progress went out the window but this year I have a plan to turn things around. I’ve  struggled with being underweight for a while now and going to the gym regularly really increased my appetite as well as pushing me up to the healthiest BMI score I’ve had in years. So I’ve got a cooking and eating plan ready, and this year I’m back off to the gym to improve my strength and general health.

[b]Writing – some of you may not know this but I’m currently doing a Creative Writing degree with the intention of becoming a full time writer at some point in the future. It’s hit me recently that for someone who calls themselves a writer I don’t do a lot of writing – so this year I’m changing that. I have a two pronged attack plan – firstly I want to write at least the first draft of a book this year, and secondly I want to write at least 500 words of it everyday. I’m planning to start a series about my writing and how it is all progressing on the blog so I’ll keep you all up to date on it.

[c]Looking after myself – One of my major victories of last year was really improving my mental health, but I really let myself down on looking after the physical side of my health. I found myself going to the gym even though I hadn’t eaten that day or when the hospital put me on a new (uber restrictive) diet to work out what was making me sick I ate the same meal three times a day for weeks because I was too scared to eat anything else. I also spent a lot of this year picking up the pieces after everyone else and letting the amount of work and fun I was doing suffer because of that. This year I’m going to braver, not only am I going to eat more healthily but I’m going to go traveling on my own, treat myself and invest time into making myself happy.

[d] Working hard – As you might be able to tell I’m a dreamer, I love making plans and setting goals. However this year I’ve set myself these amazing and inspiring goals and then been to scared to work towards them. This year though, that’s going to change I’m going to work hard and shape my life into the way I want it to be.

Blogging Intentions:

I have three main focuses when it comes to blogging in 2017:

[a] Writing more posts – Although it pains me to admit it I barely wrote any posts last year. Throughout the whole 9 months since we started this blog I only wrote 30 posts and only 7 of those were book reviews. This year I’m aiming to write at least 100 posts for you guys and make close to half of those book reviews.

[b] Writing better posts – On top of writing more posts for you this year I want to write you posts of a lot high quality. I don’t want to be churning out things none of you want to read. I am aiming to spend more time on each post as well as increasing my production level (i.e. photos are going to hopefully start looking better and there might even be a few videos coming this year as well!).

[c] Writing more wide ranging posts – Now, don’t get me wrong I love books but there are a few other things that I love that I really want to share with you all. There will still be all the book content that you could want but on top of that there will be a few posts about writing, cooking, fitness, and a few other non-bookish things. I think this is going to be very exciting and I hope you’ll love it too.

Blogging goals:

Im not going to share my exact blogging goals with you as I’m a little embarrassed and if I achieve none of them but get all my blogging intentions done I’ll be more than happy.  simply they involve tripling everything – tripling output, tripling followers and tripling views.

I will also be aiming to a better job at the social media side of things [twitter // instagram // pinterest // goodreads] which has been seriously lacking this year.

~

I really hope you have a fantastic year and it goes the way you want it to! This is the first personal post I’ve written so thank you for baring with me! If you need a little encouragement with your goals this year share them in the comments and we can all cheer each other on.

~ Lizz

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions 2017

Leave a Reply

