5 Books I Want To Read This Winter

My first term of my second year at Uni is about to come to a close and to help me make it through the long days of essay writing I’ve been daydreaming about the books I’m going to read in my time off. I thought I’d share them with you today, let me know what you’re planning to read this winter!

Here are the 5 books I want to read this winter:

1. The Gardens of Moon – Steven Erikson

553992

‘The Malazan Empire simmers with discontent, bled dry by interminable warfare, bitter infighting, and bloody confrontations. Even the imperial legions, long inured to the bloodshed, yearn for some respite. Yet Empress Laseen’s rule remains absolute, enforced by her dread Claw assassins.

For Sergeant Whiskeyjack and his squad of Bridgeburners, and for Tattersail, surviving cadre mage of the Second Legion, the aftermath of the siege of Pale should have been a time to mourn the many dead. But Darujhistan, last of the Free Cities of Genabackis, yet holds out. It is to this ancient citadel that Laseen turns her predatory gaze.

But it would appear that the Empire is not alone in this great game. Sinister, shadowbound forces are gathering as the gods themselves prepare to play their hand.’ -Goodreads

When I told a good friend of mine that I wish I knew more about fantasy books and had read some more classic series. He recommended The Malazan Book of the Fallen series to me, The Gardens of Moon is the first book in this series. This book is pretty big, so I think I’m going to have to leave reading this until the holidays.

2. The Name of the Wind – Patrick Rothfuss

the name of the wind.jpg

Told in Kvothe’s own voice, this is the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen.

The intimate narrative of his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-ridden city, his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a legendary school of magic, and his life as a fugitive after the murder of a king form a gripping coming-of-age story unrivaled in recent literature.

A high-action story written with a poet’s hand, The Name of the Wind is a masterpiece that will transport readers into the body and mind of a wizard.’ -Goodreads

Patrick Rothfuss never fails to make me laugh, I love his blog and watching him on Acquisitions Inc shows so it’s about time I get round to reading his books. I’ve had The Name of the Wind for months now, I’ve been meaning to read it and finally this winter I’ve got some time to do so.

3. Go Set a Watchman – Harper Lee

go-set-a-watchman

From Harper Lee comes a landmark new novel set two decades after her beloved Pulitzer Prize-winning masterpiece, To Kill a Mockingbird. Maycomb, Alabama. Twenty-six-year-old Jean Louise Finch–“Scout”–returns home from New York City to visit her aging father, Atticus. Set against the backdrop of the civil rights tensions and political turmoil that were transforming the South, Jean Louise’s homecoming turns bittersweet when she learns disturbing truths about her close-knit family, the town and the people dearest to her. Memories from her childhood flood back, and her values and assumptions are thrown into doubt. Featuring many of the iconic characters from To Kill a Mockingbird, Go Set a Watchman perfectly captures a young woman, and a world, in a painful yet necessary transition out of the illusions of the past–a journey that can be guided only by one’s conscience. Written in the mid-1950s, Go Set a Watchman imparts a fuller, richer understanding and appreciation of Harper Lee. Here is an unforgettable novel of wisdom, humanity, passion, humor and effortless precision–a profoundly affecting work of art that is both wonderfully evocative of another era and relevant to our own times. It not only confirms the enduring brilliance of To Kill a Mockingbird, but also serves as its essential companion, adding depth, context and new meaning to an American classic.’ -Goodreads

To Kill A Mockingbird has been near the top of my favourite books for years now, and my boyfriend bought me Go Set a Watchman over a year ago (oh dear). I plan to spend a bit of my free time over the Christmas holidays to catch up on those books I’ve had on my shelves for years.

4. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – J. K. Rowling [re-read]

harry-potter-and-the-philosphers-stone

Harry Potter’s life is miserable. His parents are dead and he’s stuck with his heartless relatives, who force him to live in a tiny closet under the stairs. But his fortune changes when he receives a letter that tells him the truth about himself: he’s a wizard. A mysterious visitor rescues him from his relatives and takes him to his new home, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

After a lifetime of bottling up his magical powers, Harry finally feels like a normal kid. But even within the Wizarding community, he is special. He is the boy who lived: the only person to have ever survived a killing curse inflicted by the evil Lord Voldemort, who launched a brutal takeover of the Wizarding world, only to vanish after failing to kill Harry.

Though Harry’s first year at Hogwarts is the best of his life, not everything is perfect. There is a dangerous secret object hidden within the castle walls, and Harry believes it’s his responsibility to prevent it from falling into evil hands. But doing so will bring him into contact with forces more terrifying than he ever could have imagined.

Full of sympathetic characters, wildly imaginative situations, and countless exciting details, the first installment in the series assembles an unforgettable magical world and sets the stage for many high-stakes adventures to come.’ -Goodreads

I very recently found out that my local library has copies of the audiobook version of the Harry Potter series. I spent most of my childhood going to sleep listening to the tapes of the series as I go to bed, and I’m so excited to listen to these again. [Also I went to see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them at the end of November and now all I want to do is read Harry Potter and cry].

5.  Sourcery – Terry Pratchett

sourcery

When last seen, the singularly inept wizard Rincewind had fallen off the edge of the world. Now magically, he’s turned up again, and this time he’s brought the Luggage.

But that’s not all….

Once upon a time, there was an eighth son of an eighth son who was, of course, a wizard. As if that wasn’t complicated enough, said wizard then had seven sons. And then he had an eighth son — a wizard squared (that’s all the math, really). Who of course, was a source of magic — a sourcerer.’    -Goodreads

Oh dear (again), I started reading this book last January and had to take it back to the library – and well, I haven’t picked it up since… However, I had made a bet with a friend of mine that I can read every book written by Sir Terry in the next year (which I know I’m going to lose but I’m going to try anyway) so I’m planning to pick this book back sometime this winter.

~ Lizz

Leave a Reply

