I’m (almost) finished – books I’m still struggling to finish

We all have some books that we just can’t seem to finish. Whether that’s because we’re not enjoying them or because we’re just not in the mood to pick them up and finish them off.

Today I thought I’d share with you my list of books that have been on my currently reading list for way too long and tell you a little bit about why I’m struggling hit that I’m finished button on goodreads:

Jane Eyre -Charlotte Bronte

10210-_sy180_

I really should have finished Jane Eyre by now, I’ve studied it twice (once for my A Levels and once at Uni), I’ve written two essays on it, I find the themes and motifs of the books so interesting. But for some reason everytime I get around 70% of the way through I loose my steam and can’t seem to get past that page.

Selected Poems – Alexander Pope

25157

I will probably never finish this book. Pope’s poems aren’t for me. I should really DNF it. One of the poems in this book is over fifty pages long – who has time to read that much boring poetry.

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao – Junot Diaz

297673-_sy180_

I can’t tell if this is a boring book, if I just started reading it too young or if literary fiction is not for me. Whatever reason this book as been sitting half finished on my book case back at my parents house for almost three years and I can’t work up the nerve to pick it back up again.

A Darker Shade of Magic – V. E. Schwab

81eos-mtaql

I don’t know what’s wrong with me. I love this book whenever I pick it up. The characters are great and the world is really unique and exciting, however I really struggle to find the will to read this book. I even couldn’t force myself to pick it up when I tried to do a month of finishing reading half finished books.

Illuminae – Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman

51pu2bwgixkl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

I’m not sure this book is for me, but everyone else loves it so much I think I’ll have to see it through to the end.

Clarissa – Samuel Richardson

529243-_sy180_

I’m currently meant to be reading this book for Uni but I just don’t have the time. It’s 1500 and something pages long, and the text is half the size of most books and the pages are twice as big. It’s also quite a slow book. I really want to finish this book one day, it might just not be any time soon.

What half read books are currently sat patiently waiting on your shelf for you to pick them up again? How do you decide you’re ready to DNF a book?

-Lizz

Leave a Reply

