I Messed Up book tag – celebrating failure

Recently the Vlogbrothers have been reflecting on the fact that in our society we’re so bombarded by people’s edited presentation of themselves – in which they hide their failure and broadcast their success – that when we fail it has become an isolating, lonely feeling. As all we see around us are people constantly succeeding and never failing. As a result of this Hank and John decided to talk about the thing their currently failing at (Hank, running a conference that is expecting a super low turn out and loosing a lot of money, and John, failing to be able to follow the award winning Fault in Our Stars) in order to start a conversation about failure and make it a less lonely place. Their videos really inspired me, I fail a lot – especially when it comes to the blog (not as many people as I would like read my posts, I don’t post often enough, etc.) and when I saw Jenn from Thriceread do this tag I thought it would be a fun way and good start to talking about failure on TwoGirlsOneBlog.

I Messed Up tag:

A Character Appearance You Misread or Imagined Differently?

I only recently found out that I got Isulet from Truthwitch really wrong. I imagined her with long dark hair, very tanned skin and bring greens eyes but I’m pretty sure it says something completely different in the books.

A Character Name That You’ve Been Pronouncing Wrong?

So many. So, so many.

-Widdlings instead of Wildlings

-Lord Twin instead of Lord Tywin, and then Lord Tywayne the next time.

-Count Offal instead of Count Olaf

I could go on forever.

An Overused Trope That Is Your Guilty Pleasure?

Forbidden love triumphing against all the odds!!! Especially between two characters of different classes (like a princess in love with her bodyguard), seeing the couple succeed even though everyone else wants them to fail always warms my heart!

A Cliché Character That You Like Better On Screen Than Reading About?

A grizzled detective, I always roll my eyes when I read it, but put it on TV and my Mum and I will spend hours watching it. I don’t know what it is about crime characters on TV, I just find them so addictive.

A Word Or Phrase That You Learned Because of It’s Use In Books?

One that always sticks with me is ‘like a fly in amber’ because a friend of mine used that phrase in an acting lesson once and people ripped into him for talking nonsense and making up phrases. Then the next day I read it in A Feast for Crows and was able to shut everyone up. Books make everything better!

Have You Ever Read/Not Completed A Required Reading Book For School?

Jane Eyre, it’s my weakness. I’ve studied it at both A level and Degree level and I didn’t finish it either time. I wrote coursework and important essays on it as well! I find the concepts surrounding the book so interesting, but I just can’t finish the book.

How You Ever Skipped (Or Wanted To) A Chapter From The Point Of View Of A Character You Weren’t Interested In?

I’ve never skipped a chapter before, but whilst reading A Feast for Crows I was so temped with anything that wasn’t Dorne or the Iron Islands (I don’t care about Cerici’s council meetings or Jamie moping around in the river lands)!

Have You Ever Cancelled Social Plans To Read A Book?

Regularly! I’m lucky that my boyfriend loves to read so we’re able to read a lot whilst we hang out (the best way to spend a date to be honest!!). I do cancel my plans with other friends quite a lot in order to stay at home and read, espeically when it’s raining.

 

Lizz

Leave a Reply

