The Ruler of Books tag 

On Tuesday Ariel Bissett (who btw is a fanstic and insightful booktuber and you should definately go check her out if you haven’t already!) introduced the world to her new book tag ‘The Ruler of Books’ and I thought it looked really fun, so I’ve given it a go…

The premise of the Rule of Books tag is that you are the new ruler of book, and you are building a world surrounding book. I’m not going to lie, I love the idea of the world being ruled by a book obsessed monarch – doesn’t that just sound amazing?!

I’m going to tag thebookshelfblog and Hungry Monster reviews

Q1. What book would you make everyone read?

For me this one is easy:

I would probably use my powers to make everyone read the whole series, but I feel like The Deathly Hallows were such a perfect ending to the series and the films really didn’t do the book justice at all. It is a constant of worry for me when people tell me they don’t like Harry Potter – but they haven’t read the books! I don’t think there would be many people who didn’t like Harry Potter if everyone had read the books.

Q2. What would you abolish in book construction?

18304322

Again, no question! Matte black covers. The copy of Dumplin that I had was bound with a matte black cover and it was so stressful! I like to read on the go a lot and the matteness of the cover made that so stressful – the cover picked up everything it took, herbs from the kitchen, makeup, small city states, and everything else in the world. It was very distressing – especially as I have borrowed the book and I didn’t want to give it back with a million things stuck on the back.

Q3. What author would you commision to write you any book?

For fear of making this tag too Harry Potter heavy (not that that’s really much of a problem) I need J.K. to tell us what the Marauders got up to at Hogwarts! We need to know about their Hogwart’s exploration to make the map, we need animagus shenanigans and sassy teenage Lily telling James to get lots!

Q4. What book would you demote to the library basement to make room for new books?

 41hb6rmawdl-_sx320_bo1204203200_

Like Ariel, I’m going to have to discuss one of my unpopular opinions to answer this question. I would have Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park moved to the basements. I didn’t really like anything about this book (however I loved Fangirl so much, and every problem I had with E&P was fixed in Fangirl); the main characters, the side characters and the plot all left me underwhelmed, and I was really confused as to the age of the characters, as their behaviour changed to suit the plot.

Q5. What cover artist would you commision to make a mural?

2-inbloom-group-redone

(x)

I completely adore Anna Bond’s floral illustrations, and I would love to see a huge wall in my palace covered in her designs.

Q6. What character’s face would you put on a coin?

davos_seaworth

Davos Seaworth, the Onion Knight, from the Song of Ice and Fire series is one of my favorite characters from everything! I want someone to love me the way Davos loves boats. I never see any love for Davos, so in my realm of books we would celebrate the under appreciated characters on our money!

Q7. What book would you award the ‘Ruler of Books’ 2016 prize to?

9780141189574

So for this final question I have to award a prize to my favourite book I’ve read in 2016, and (having been completely off my reading game this year, I have not read much) I would have to give it to Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse. I really enjoyed this book, the prose was absolutely beautiful and the story was charming.

I also tag any of you who want to do this tag!!  Want to chat more: add us on Goodreads –  you can find Lizz here and Elly here.  -Lizz

Leave a Reply

